Central Electrochemical Research Institute, Karaikudi

Vijayamohanan K Pillai is a leading Electrochemist from India, who after receiving his PhD from IISc, Bangalore, worked in many areas of electrochemical power sources, electrochemical sensors and bio-electrochemistry for more than two decades. He has authored over 250 publications and obtained 20 patents in both electrochemistry and materials chemistry and has guided about 20 PhD students. He has received many honors and awards – MRSI Medal, CRSI Medal, National Prize for Research on Energy Materials and Devices, etc.; Fellowship of the Indian National Science Academy and the Indian Academy of Sciences (2008). He has served on the Editorial Board of many prestigious journals. He is at present the Director of CSIR-Central Electrochemical Research Institute, Karaikudi. He also held the additional charge as Director, CSIR-NCL, Pune, from June 2015 to February 2016.


SESSION 1D: Symposium: Materials of Today and Tomorrow

A K Ganguli, IIT Delhi;

Battery materials for electric vehicles: Today and tomorrow View Presentation

Electric mobility provides some respite against our increasingly deteriorating environment by deploying hybrid and electric vehicles. Affordability, however, could act as a barrier in minimizing the carbon footprint for the benefit of future generations (sustainability). This talk will explain the design of battery materials involved in zero-emission transportation after a brief history of rechargeable Li-ion batteries, examining all the options available for electric mobility. Various aspects of the National mobility programme including the plan to replace vehicles in India by 2030 using fuel cells, Li-ion, Na-ion, Li-air and other futuristic batteries will be discussed. The future of personalized as well as public transport will be examined in the light of recent innovative trends like smart battery materials, driver-less and flying cars using unprecedented technological advancements in materials science, computational capability, machine intelligence and mega-data analysis.

© 2018 Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru.